bharat ncap

Everything You Need to Know About Bharat NCAP, India’s First Car Safety Rating Program

Bharat NCAP is a voluntary crash-testing program that will assess new cars, award safety ratings, and help improve the image of Indian automobiles in both domestic and international markets, benefiting car consumers and the Indian economy.

bharat ncap- India's first car safety rating program

The long-awaited Bharat New Car Assessment Program (BNCAP) will be launched on August 22nd by Nitin Gadkari, Union Minister of Road Transport and Highways. Bharat NCAP has been in the works for several years, and the program, which aims to improve the safety ratings of Indian vehicles, will finally be launched this month. This new program intends to raise the safety standards of Indian autos to worldwide levels in order to improve the image of Indian automobiles in international markets.

Bharat NCAP will be similar to Global NCAP for individuals who are unfamiliar with the program. This new program will crash-test new cars offered voluntarily by the country’s automakers. The cars will be rated for safety after extensive accident tests. These ratings will assist car buyers in the country in making more educated judgements based on the car’s safety ratings. Both car consumers and the Indian economy will benefit from this.

The economic side of this new program is that cars made in India are now regarded as substandard vehicles in both domestic and international markets due to their past reputation for being less safe. This program will assist Indian manufacturers in demonstrating to overseas markets that their vehicles are considerably safer if they earn high ratings. This will allow them to export more automobiles to worldwide markets and contribute to the growth of the country’s economy.

Bharat NCAP parameters

As previously stated, manufacturers will have the option of voluntarily agreeing to have their vehicles tested in compliance with Automotive Industry Standard (AIS) 197. The Bharat NCAP will perform extensive crash tests before awarding stars to evaluated vehicles for the safety of Adult Occupants (AOP) and Child Occupants (COP). Following the assignment of these star ratings, prospective car purchasers could use them to compare the safety features of various models and make informed purchasing decisions.

Recently, the Indian government finalized the criteria of Bharat NCAP and linked them with worldwide crash test methods. The safety standards will address a variety of issues, such as pedestrian-friendly design, structural safety, and active and passive safety aid technologies. These elements will be combined to determine a vehicle’s rating, which will be assigned on a scale of one to five stars, similar to renowned programmed such as Global NCAP and Euro NCAP.

Bharat NCAP crash test ratings will be mandatory for vehicles with type certification up to eight-seater models (including the driver’s seat) and a gross vehicle weight of less than 3.5 tones. This includes not only traditional petrol and diesel automobiles, but also CNG and electric vehicles. The program is entirely voluntary, but manufacturers will be urged to submit test vehicles. The authorized agency will have the authority to choose car models for evaluation from showrooms.

Bharat NCAP and Indian automakers

Just a few weeks ago, a slew of Indian firms weighed in on the program’s finalization. Manufacturers such as Maruti Suzuki, Mahindra & Mahindra, and Toyota enthusiastically supported the introduction of Bharat NCAP. They indicated that they saw this new program as a big step forward for the local business.

Leave a Reply