History Made: Ferrari Ends Toyota’s Domination at Le Mans, Claims First Victory Since 1965

  • Ferrari breaks 58-year drought, clinching victory at 24 Hours of Le Mans, shattering Toyota’s winning streak.
  • Dramatic twist at Le Mans as Ferrari capitalizes on Toyota’s mistake, secures historic triumph after intense battle.
ferrari breaks 58-year drought, clinching victory at 24 Hours of Le Mans

Ferrari won the 24 Hours of Le Mans for the first time since 1965, denying Toyota its sixth consecutive triumph. On the 100th anniversary of the endurance racing classic, the No 51 crew of Alessandro Pier Guidi, James Calado, and Antonio Giovinazzi achieved the historic triumph for Ferrari.

Sebastien Buemi, Brendon Hartley, and Ryo Hirakawa finished second, about a minute behind the No. 8 Toyota GR010 Hybrid. The podium was completed by the No. 2 Cadillac V-Series.R of Alex Lynn, Earl Bamber, and Richard Westbrook.

The 499P Le Mans Hypercar prototype marked Ferrari’s return to the World Endurance Championship (WEC). The racer exhibited flashes of speed in the first three races, and it eventually demonstrated reliability in Le Mans.

Toyota gained 37kg and Ferrari gained 24kg in weight ahead of Le Mans, a decision that Toyota team principal Kamui Kobayashi believes lost them about 1.2 seconds each lap.

The 100th edition of the 24 Hours of Le Mans offered some surprises. The pole-sitting No. 50 Ferrari lost five laps as the team investigated a mechanical issue, and the No. 7 Toyota retired after a four-car incident late at night. As a result, the race was decided between the No. 51 Ferrari and the No. 8 Toyota.

Ferrari’s lead was jeopardised when Pier Guidi spun into the gravel, and they lost even more time when they were obliged to conduct a power cycle at a pit stop with five hours remaining. However, a mistake made by Toyota driver Hirakawa while chasing the lead let Ferrari extend their lead.

Leave a Reply